Flat Top Independent Church has a long, rich history on this mountain. The community was named “Flat Top” because the original church building, a log building which was located at the site of our new church, had a flat roof or “flat top”. Our older church building was built in 1895 in cooperation with Hamilton County as a school that served grades 1 through 8. The building served the community as both school and church for many years.
The original church with the “flat top” was a Presbyterian church. Over the years the church became a Methodist church and later an Independent Methodist church. After calling several Baptist preachers to be their pastor, the church made the decision in 1977 to change the name to Flat Top Independent Church.